0.2.4 Applet is just a grey box.

Report and discuss bugs here!
RRRRyan
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 5:41 am

0.2.4 Applet is just a grey box.

Post by RRRRyan » Wed Dec 08, 2004 5:47 am

I upgraded tonight and now the applet appears blank on external browsers (works fine internally). My config is IIS on port 80 hosts html with applet. Stream is on port 8080 and host and port are manually configured in the html. This worked great on the previous version. Is there a way for me to get the old version back? I was a bit too confident and overwrote it. :(

Advertisement



RRRRyan
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 5:41 am

jre 5.0

Post by RRRRyan » Wed Dec 08, 2004 6:37 am

Ahhh... that was weird, so locally the applet worked on a machine running an older version of the JRE but my external box, which had another version that previously worked, did not work. :-\ Guess I should read the info more closely. I'd still like to find the previous version of the applet if possible since it is evidently more compatible.

Anyway, I got it working by installing JRE 5, I'm just surprised that it isn't more backward compatible.

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1530
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Post by malun » Thu Dec 09, 2004 7:00 pm

The new applet should be compatible as before... It really should.
But I have had other reports from people facing the same problem as you now...
I have to investigate it a bit more and see if I can find anything strange.

You can get the old version of Yawcam (ver. 0.2.3) here!

/malun

RRRRyan
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 5:41 am

Thanks for the Quick Reply!

Post by RRRRyan » Thu Dec 09, 2004 7:50 pm

I'm a programmer too... I know all about "should be". LOL... Thanks for the quick reply.

I'm still experimenting with yawcam but I'm pretty close to settling on it for the long term. I do hope you get your C version working. I love to code and support Java but it does hog the system resources. :-\

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1530
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Re: Thanks for the Quick Reply!

Post by malun » Thu Dec 09, 2004 7:58 pm

RRRRyan wrote:I love to code and support Java but it does hog the system resources. :-\
Yes, I agree! The performance of java (and also yawcam) are not the way I would like it. It eats system resources like no other language. Horrible!

/malun

RRRRyan
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 5:41 am

Follow Up

Post by RRRRyan » Fri Dec 10, 2004 4:07 am

Well, in case there was any question everything works great when I simply replace the yawapplet.class file with the one from version 0.2.3.

BTW... if you think Java is a hog, try anything in .NET. 20mb foot print for "hello world"... LOL. I haven't checked but I bet that's got Java beat.

RRRRyan
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 5:41 am

OMT

Post by RRRRyan » Fri Dec 10, 2004 4:12 am

I am not positive, but I think it's a matter of MSJAVA not working on the new version. I know!!!! MSJAVA is crap, but it did work on the previous build.

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1530
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Post by malun » Sun Dec 12, 2004 12:59 am

I think I found something :D
I have made a new applet now. (This time it's test compiled with java 1.1.8 and really should be compatible :wink: )

Check if this applet works better:
http://www.yawcam.com/newapplet/YawApplet.class

One of the things I have changed is that I now use Color.white instead of Color.WHITE. Because the latter was apparently not 1.1.8 compatible :evil: . You learn new things every day :D

I hope this new applet works...

/malun

Rille
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 6:36 pm

Post by Rille » Sun Dec 12, 2004 2:23 am

Can you recompile my "WebcamController.class" also?

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1530
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Post by malun » Sun Dec 12, 2004 9:21 pm

Rille wrote:Can you recompile my "WebcamController.class" also?
Done: http://www.yawcam.com/newapplet/WebcamController.class

/malun

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1530
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Post by malun » Sun Dec 12, 2004 9:23 pm

By the way, can anyone confirm that the new applet works with the default MSJAVA?

/malun

Rille
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 6:36 pm

Post by Rille » Sun Dec 12, 2004 9:24 pm

I will test it at work tomorrow

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1530
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Post by malun » Sun Dec 12, 2004 9:25 pm

Nice, thank you!

/malun

Banshee
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2004 8:32 pm

Post by Banshee » Sun Dec 12, 2004 11:36 pm

I just tested the new applet ,and the one that came with 0.2.4, and I do not get an image with the MSJVM, only the Sun Java will give me the image. I'm running Win2K Pro, and MSJAVA VM build 5.0.3810

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1530
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Post by malun » Sun Dec 12, 2004 11:51 pm

Yes, I know the applet that came with 0.2.4 didn't work with MSJAVA. My question was if this new applet:
http://www.yawcam.com/newapplet/YawApplet.class

...works with MSJAVA.
Maybe I wasn't clear enough.

/malun

Post Reply